# **Officer Nominations**

## 2017-2019 Officer Nominations are:

Membership Vice President: Carol Mueller

Public Policy Co-Vice President: Erin Prangley and TBD

Treasurer: Christine Schmidt

Co-Secretary: Heather Reichardt and Mary Anne Williams

#### Officers whose terms continue through 2017-2018

State President: Eileen Menton Program Co-Vice Presidents: Markonette Richardson and Kate Campbell Stevenson Funds Vice-President: Beatrice "Bea" Dane Communications Vice President: Bernadette Low



## For Membership Vice President

Dr. Carol Leah Mueller A.A. Education, College of DuPage B.Ed. Secondary Education, Earth and Space Science, University of Arkansas M.Ed. Secondary Education advanced certification in Geology, University of Arkansas Ph.D. Curriculum and Instruction, University of Arkansas Enrolled in Post-Masters Certification Program Leadership for Higher Education, Capella University

Dr. Mueller has been a member of AAUW since 2009. She has served the Harford County Branch as the Vice President of Programs for a total of five Years, as Historian for one year, and as the College Representative for Higher Education. She has been an active member of the branch attending general meetings, the cooking

group and recently joining the book club. In 2013, a named gift to the Eleanor Roosevelt Fund of AAUW was given by the Harford County Branch in honor of Dr. Mueller.

Carol lives in Bel Air, MD with her husband Kent Nicholson who works as an Engineer for the City of Baltimore. She has two children and three grandchildren who are an important part of her life.

Dr. Mueller has been teaching at Harford Community College since 2008. She teaches a wide variety of courses including all the transitional math courses, Earth science, and statistics. She taught geology at the University of Arkansas and both math and science in private and public secondary schools before coming

to HCC. She has presented at many regional and local conferences on topics ranging from geology to the development of a philosophy of science and education. Dr. Mueller's current research area is the impact of developmental education on retention and completion. She serves on Faculty Council and is co-chair of the Professional Development committee at HCC. She is the President-Elect for the Developmental Education Association of Maryland.

Carol has a wide variety of interests and in the last several years has served on the board of the Senior Science Society, working as a mentor for girls interested in science careers. She has taught sessions at science nights for elementary students on fossils. Recently she presented a colloquium for a STEM day at Harford Community College on the Burgess Shale. Volume 1, Issue 1, of *Branches: A Journal of Learning, Teaching and Research in STEM at Harford Community College* included an article on teaching developmental and first year students co-authored by Dr. Mueller. She is in the process of starting a nonprofit agency working with schools in Kenya and has traveled and worked in Kenya for the past ten years. Carol is especially interested in the equality of educational opportunities for young women in Kenya.



#### For Public Policy Vice President

Erin Prangley is an accomplished attorney with extensive experience in government relations, public policy development and advocacy. She has worked for elected officials, non-profit organizations (including AAUW national's public policy shop), and individual clients with matters concerning state and federal governments. Erin first joined AAUW in 2004 and is currently a member of the Kensington-Rockville branch. She enjoys lobbying for AAUW MD's legislative agenda in Annapolis and participating in the branch's Literature Group and Great Decisions Discussion Group. She is a graduate of the University of Southern California (B.A. Sociology) and American University Washington College of Law (J.D.). She lives in Bethesda with her husband Dan and daughter Alex.



#### **For Treasurer**

Christine Schmitz has been employed by Glass Jacobson Financial Group since 2003 as a CPA and Financial Advisor. A long time member of AAUW, she has previously been the AAUW Funds Vice President for Maryland. Currently she serves as a member of the AAUW National Investment Committee.

In addition to having a Bachelor's degree from Peabody Institute, she is a graduate of the University of Baltimore in accounting and also has a Master's degree in Legal Studies. She also is a Certified Financial Planner and a Registered Investment Advisor. She is active on several charitable boards including the Johns Hopkins University Peabody Institute Advisory Board and the Society of Peabody Alumni Board. She is the current Treasurer of VGIF (Virginia Gildersleeve International Fund) and a Vestry Member of St. Barnabas Episcopal Church in Sykesville, MD.



## For Co-Secretary

Heather Reichardt has been a member since April 2013 and is now in her second year as President of AAUW Gaithersburg and is nominated again for that position. She is a director for state and local tax and advisory for the Altus Group U.S. in Tysons Corner, VA. She has a bachelor's degree in business administration concentrating on real estate and economics from American University, and she has a master's degree in institutional real estate investment from Johns Hopkins University. She lives in Darnestown with her husband, Mark, and two children. When her children were in school she was active in PTA, Cubscouts and Girl Scouts. She was a member of the Montgomery County

Commission for Women from Fall 2013 through Spring 2016. Heather is also active in several professional organizations related to her field of property tax.



#### For Re-Election as Co-Secretary

Mary Anne Williams has been a member of AAUW Frederick Branch for more than 30 years. At the branch level, she has served in every office except Treasurer. She has also served as co-president of AAUW Maryland for 4 years, and has for the past 2 years served as secretary. Mary Anne completed a career as an elementary public school teacher, and enjoys her retirement. She uses her teaching skills to lead two classes as the Senior Center, and participates in many other activities.

**Respectfully submitted by the 2017 Nominating Committee** with sincere thanks extended to President Eileen Menton for her help. Cam Corbin (Hagerstown Branch), Bernadette Low (Harford Branch), Mary Anne Williams (Frederick Branch), and Elizabeth Matthews (Salisbury Branch).