Minutes of the 2019 AAUW MD Convention

April 13, 2019

Garrett County –Wisp Resort

The 77th Convention annual meeting of AAUW Maryland was called to order by Susan Wierman, Co-President at 12:25pm at Wisp Resort, McHenry, Maryland. She thanked the Garrett County Branch and the Program Committee for doing a wonderful job on the venue, arrangements, and program for the Convention.

Co-Secretary, Mary Ann Williams conducted a **Roll Call of the Branches**: 11 of 14 branches were represented, and a quorum was declared.

Pat Stocker made a motion to **adopt the convention rules** as presented in the handouts. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

The **Credentials Report** was presented by Linda Carr, a member of the Garrett County Branch.

- 11 branches
- 29 delegates
- 10 members of the State board of directors
- 7 past presidents
- 1 national member
- 42 voting delegates; majority is 22; 2/3rds is 14

The **minutes of AAUW Maryland's 2018 Convention** prepared by Co-Secretary Heather Reichardt were approved by the appointed convention reading committee. They were distributed to the board members by email. A copy appeared in the convention booklet.

Ms. Wierman appointed tellers and timekeepers:

Eileen Menton - teller

Pat Stocker – timekeeper

Ms. Wierman appointed readers for these minutes: Roxann King and Margery Sullivan.

Chair of the Nominating Committee, Edie Allison, presented the **Nominating Committee report**. The following were nominated for the 2019-2021 term:

Christine Schmitz, Baltimore -Treasurer (continuing for second term)

Edith Allison, Gaithersburg - Secretary

Carol Mueller, Harford County - Membership Vice President (continuing for second term)

Erin Prangley Kensington-Rockville (continuing for second term, and Kashay Webb, Baltimore, Public Policy (starting her first term) as Co-Vice Presidents for Public Policy

The following **officers continue** in the second year of their two-year terms:

Kate Campbell Stevenson and Susan Wierman- Co-Presidents

Tracy Lantz – Vice President for Programs

(Nora Putt resigned as co-Vice President for Programs)

Bea Dane - Funds Vice President

Eileen Menton – Vice President for Communications

Election of officers: Ms. Wierman asked for any other nominations from the floor. Hearing none, she closed the nominations. The slate was approved unanimously.

Ms. Wierman congratulated those who had been elected and thanked the members of the **Nominating Committee** for their service: Edie Allison (Gaithersburg Branch), Dorothy Fraquelli (Baltimore Branch), Raluca Rosca (College Park Branch), and Erin Prangley (Kensington-Rockville Branch).

Ms. Wierman thanked the outgoing officers for their service: Heather Reichardt and Mary Ann Williams, Co-Secretaries.

She also recognized officers continuing in service in the coming year: Kate Campbell Stevenson and Ms. Wierman, Co-Presidents; Christine Schmitz, Treasurer; Tracy Lantz, Program VP; Carol Mueller, Membership VP; Bea Dane, Funds VP; and Erin Prangley, Public Policy Co-VP.

All officer reports were distributed in the notebook.

Ms. Wierman announced the branches that will form the **2020 Nominating Committee**: Anne Arundel, Easton, Frederick, And Harford. She also asked Edie Allison to serve as advisor ex officio for the Committee.

The final credentials report was presented by Linda Carr:

11 branches

29 delegates

10 state board members

7 past presidents

1 national member

42 delegate body

Dian Belanger led the **installation of new officers**. She congratulated and inspired the officers to lead for those who came before us, those who will follow us, and for ourselves. Leadership is a challenge, an honor, a trust. It brings opportunities, empowerment, and fun.

Christine Schmitz reviewed the **Treasurer's report**. As of 3/31/19 the account balance was \$38,529.89 including both checking and money market.

Treasurer Schmitz compared expenses for the past year (July 2017-June 2018) and the current year (July 2018-June 2019), through March 31, 2019.

- o Dues receipts are lower because they are not paid yet for the coming year.
- Total Income through March was \$5,026
- Expenses are within budget totaling \$4711.47

- o It was recommended that additional funds be added for the Diversity Committee for the upcoming fiscal year; printing expenses for this year will be covered.
- Reminder to use Office Depot for copying less expensive

Christine Schmitz presented the report of the Funds Committee for Vice President Bea Dane. Based on donations in 2018, the top giving branches from MD to national were:

- #3 Bethesda-Chevy Chase \$8,885
- #2 Baltimore \$12,292
- o #1 Kensington-Rockville \$16,042

Christine Schmitz reviewed funding for the **Maryland Woman of Distinction** recognition at the upcoming 2019 National Conference of Collegiate Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL). AAUW MD was close to meeting the goal of \$20,000 for that event due to promises and collections today.

Jackie Gray presented the **Diversity and Inclusion report**. Ms. Gray held a committee meeting on March 24 via teleconference. A summary of that meeting was distributed. She encouraged each branch to have a member on the Diversity and Inclusion Committee. Jackie will work with the branch leaders to develop fresh ideas. She recommended a focus on the question,

 Who are we missing and why? From Dr. Sunshine Brosi – AAUW Fellowship Grant recipient and speaker during the Convention program.

Vice President Carol Mueller presented the **Membership Report**. Garrett County showed the greatest growth in the past year, and College Park lost the most members. Anne Arundel County was the largest branch, with 92 members. Baltimore was second with 62, and Kensington-Rockville third, with 59. Hagerstown, 53, and Frederick, 52, were also relatively large branches. The online branch had only 8 members, College Park. 4, and Salisbury, 3. Carol Mueller encourages members not affiliated with a branch to join the online branch.

Branch announcements:

Mary Ann Williams: The Frederick Branch was named non-profit donor of the year for Frederick College.

Roxann King: The Anne Arundel Branch was sending 3 students to NCCWSL for the first time.

Janice Zimmerman: The Baltimore Branch organized a great career panel at Notre Dame University. Janice was looking for a brochure sample to use as template.

Judy Carbone: Four students from Garrett County want to go to NCCWSL, but presently funding is available for only two. They need to cover two women from Frostburg also.

Howard County: The branch funded eight scholarships with two to NCCWSL, and the Howard Community College is sponsoring one to NCCWSL. The major fundraiser is a Fashion show scheduled for April 27.

Kate Campbell Stevenson announced she would be performing at the National Archives new exhibit May 10 Grand Opening. The show will be at 4pm; attendees could go to dinner afterwards.

Dian Belanger announced that the National Portrait Gallery has an exhibit on Votes for Women—A portrait of Persistence. Dian is a docent and could give a tour to branches

A special thank you was given to the Garrett County Convention Committee members:

Thank you to Judy Carbone and all the Garrett Branch members for the fantastic events and smooth running of the entire day.

Maureen Schafer – technical assistance
Judy – registration
Lisa- registration
Sara – registration
Linda Hertling – photography
Judy Sconyers
Lisa Thayer Welch
Sara Meyers

Judy Carbone thanked Kate and Susan for their leadership and guidance and Pat Stocker and Tracy Lantz for developing the excellent program!

Co-President Kate Campbell Stevenson adjourned the annual meeting at 3:23pm.

Respectfully submitted

Heather Reichardt, Co-Secretary