HISTORY OF THE AAUW MARYLAND HANDBOOK

The first edition of the Handbook was published in 1967 at the direction of Mrs. Gordon W. Prange, the Division President. In a foreword to that edition, the Handbook Editor, Georgia V. Mueller, summed up the spirit of AAUW leadership. She wrote, "It is my hope that this Handbook will show the administrative structure of the division in clear perspective and supply the answers to specific procedural problems. However, adherence to the mechanics of administration should never be so time and energy consuming that it becomes an end in itself. It is merely a framework, within which the work of the division fits together."

"The real dynamics of good leadership enthusiasm, initiative, good will, creative imagination, and responsibility comes from <u>YOU</u>, the AAUW leaders. In an organization which stands for the abilities and training of its members, there must always be room for innovation and individuality in any job assignment so long as basic commitments to the division and to the Association are fulfilled. The division is your vehicle; your ideas and actions move it forward to worthwhile goals."

Those who have worked on the Handbook and its revisions are listed below, using name forms preferred by members at the respective times.

- Handbook Edition Mrs. Konrad C. Mueller, assisted by Mrs. ClydeL. Everson, Mrs. Robert W. King, Mrs. David H. Witt, Mrs. Thomas C. Sager, Mrs. William J. Bailey, Mrs. Karl Frank, and Mrs. Irwin E. Kirk
- 1976 Revision Mrs. Terry Fiscella Chair, Mrs. Jean Colburn, Mrs. Anne Prange, Mrs. Jean Schubert, and Mrs. Cathy Manning
- 1981 Revision Julie Snell Chair, Jean Colburn, Carol Boyes, Pamela Lincoln, and Anne Prange
- 1983 Revision Carol Boyes Chair, Sybil Kime, Dorothea Rowe, and Corrine Shulimson
- 1985 Revision- Sybil Kime Chair, Mary Lee Anderson, Sheila Kiefer, Mary Peterson, Julie Snell and Robin Boyer
- 1986 Revision Terry Ann Sayler Chair, Dr. Ruth Harris, Janet Crampton, and Margery Sullivan
- 1988 Revision Terry Ann Sayler Chair, Gail Mathews, Historian
- 1990 Revision Mary Peterson Chair
- 1994 Revision Anne Creveling Chair, Sheila Kiefer and Barbara Fetterhoff
- 1995 Revision Anne M. Brown Chair, Sheila Kiefer, Janet Crampton, Barbara Fetterhoff, Julie Snell, Margery Sullivan, and all Board members
- 2002 Revision Lynn Hapchuk Chair, all Board members
- 2022 Revision Diane Roca, Chair, Janet Wert Crampton, Terri Massie-Burrell, Eileen Menton, Christine Schmitz